Sugarfree Day #2

I decided to give up my addiction to sugar as my resolution for 2012. I had read Sarah Wilson’s ebook “I Quit Sugar” and decided that it was something I really wanted to try. So in my usual fashion I got obsessed (yes, I’ll accept I tend to obsess about the things I am into) and I bought David Gillespies book “Sweet Poison Quit Plan” of which I am still only half way through reading and so many alarms bells are ringing in my ears! I must say though telling my friends and family what I am doing has proven to be a much bigger hurdle than I had anticipated. I am thinking I should have tricked them all and said I am “fructose-intolerant” – maybe then it wouldn’t seem like I am launching a mission into space. I’m thankful for the resistance and the confused looks I am getting because its my nature to want to prove a point, so in turn it will make me more accountable than I could have ever made myself.

I think a lot of the reaction I am receiving comes purely down to the fact that I have already lost my weight. I am happy with my size – so whats the big idea about trying a new “fad”? The thing is that I have always been curious about the hold sugar has on me. I have a “sweet tooth” and even when I lost weight I was substituting the chocolate and cake hits with fruit hits (yes – I did have a number of fruit binges)! So while I was looking pretty fit and healthy I was still waging a war against the hold sugar had on me. Then I read a few things and it was all clicking into place. I wasn’t to blame, society was. We live in a society driven by the message of low fat is good – without being told to reduce our sugar intake. Not only is the message not really out there – but sugar is added stealthily to lots and lots of food! And not all sugars are created equally and as it turns out by becoming “healthy” I was increasing my intake of fructose and strengthening the hold sugar has on me. Even when I was counting calories I was reducing my sugar unknowingly – but I was still eating fruit (and way too much) and as a result I still crave sweetness in everything! Now fruit isn’t a bad guy, once I have beaten the hold sugar has on me I will have the opportunity to return him into my life – because fruit in its “original packaging” does contain water and fibre which reduces the impact of that nasty fructose. But because I was such a sugar binger, switching it out for fruit meant that it still had a hold on my moods and my appetite.

Now given that I am only two days into my life without sugar (okay, I must admit I am not resigned to never having it again, I have committed to an 8 week trial without sugar and will see how it makes me feel) I must say it hasn’t been as difficult as I was anticipating. Sure, I may have a different view once I am a few weeks in – but I must admit I am loving the hell out of not counting calories and only counting sugar – and only checking fat content to make sure it hasn’t been removed. If this plan works and I ditch the sugar and get to eat my beloved potato, bread and full fat milk again then I think I will be one happy lady! I should add today has been a bit of a haze for me, I’ve had a nagging headache and feel like I’m walking around in a bit of a fog – but this is only making me believe that I am headed in the right direction with my quest to no longer be addicted to sugar. Breaking an addiction like mine wasn’t going to be easy! Stay tuned to see how I feel about it all in a few days…

xx

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rockafellaskank
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 10:17:49

    Good luck. Sugar-free and paleo seem to be the popular diets at the moment. Does it mean you can’t have things with natural sugars? (Fruit, veges, some carbs?) I don’t eat much fruit or veges, but no carbs at all would kill me.

    Mind you… I’ve got a long way to go on the weight loss front before I need to be thinking of fine-tuning. Perhaps in 20kg or so… *sigh*

    Deb

    Reply

    • lizzyaimee
      Jan 02, 2012 @ 21:19:25

      Thanks Deb, during the detox (for want of a better word) I am significantly reducing fructose (no fruit, very minimal sugar in food – being 3-6g per 100g – with the exception of dairy as the sugar in dairy is lactose so its allowed, if the dairy label is 4.7g sugar its considered sugar free meaning fructose free). I’m reading the nutritional panel and letting it decide what I can and can’t eat in terms of the sugar content, which amazingly has allowed the reintroduction of spuds, full cream milk and bread isn’t excluded either! xx

      Reply

  2. Deborah (Schmiet)
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 06:02:57

    Phew!

    Reply

Leave a comment